UBC

THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

The UBC Vancouver Campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xwməθkwəyəm (Musqueam) people.

Department of Educational Studies

Faculty of Education Ponderosa Commons North 6445 University Boulevard Vancouver B.C. V6T 1Z2 CANADA

Tel: 604-822-5374 Fax: 604-822-4244

EDST Service Assignments for 2023-2024

I. Department-Wide Portfolios				
	Portfolio holder	Members / Notes		
D (III 1	A 1/36			
Department Head	André Mazawi			
Deputy Head Graduate Advisor	Deirdre Kelly Hongxia Shan			
Graduate Advisor Graduate Curriculum Coordinator	Claudia Ruitenberg			
Head's Advisory Committee (HAC)	André Mazawi	Deirdre Kelly, Hongxia Shan, Claudia		
fread's Advisory Committee (ffAC)	Allure Mazawi	Ruitenberg, Hartej Gill, Holly-Kate Collinson-Shield.		
	II. Administrative Staff	f		
Administrative Manager	Holly-Kate Collinson-Shield			
Assistant to the Head	Jenifer D'souza	Supports : HAC, DSPC, Dep. Meetings, Search Cttees, Merit Cttee,		
Graduate Programs Assistant	Kelly Xu	Supports: GPACC, Scholarship & Awards		
Web & Communications Coordinator	Carl Luk	Cross-EDST web support		
Administrative Assistant	Sophia Choi	Both Himadri & Sophia support		
Administrative Assistant	Himadri Udahage Dona	UPACC, ALE, EDAL, EdD		
III.	Student Support Network	(SSN)		
GAA Student Team	Eva Crowson, Jafar Iqbal,	https://edst.educ.ubc.ca/current-		
	Silas Krabbe, Elaine Teng	students/student-support-network/		
EDST Blog Student Editor	Jessica Lussier	https://blogs.ubc.ca/edst/		
IV. Program Coordinators				
ADHE* Courses Area Coordinator	Kapil Regmi	*Adult & Higher Education		
Adult Learning & Education (ALE)	Tom Sork			
Adult Learning & Global Change (ALGC)	Kari Grain			
Educational Admin, & Leadership (EDAL)	Fei Wang			
Higher Education (HIED)	Amy Metcalfe			
Society, Culture, & Politics in Education (SCPE)	Mona Gleason			

V. EDST Committees				
	Chair	Members		
Scholarships & Awards	Amy Metcalfe	Arig al Shaibah, Cash Ahenakew		
Joint PhD-MA Managment & Admissions* *(Pilot for 2023-2024)	Taylor Webb Samuel D. Rocha (Co-Chairs)	Gerald Fallon, Bathseba Opini, Sharon Stein		
EdD in Educational Policy and Leadership Management & Admissions	Mark Edwards	Robert VanWynsberghe Anthony Edwards (Academic Coordinator)		
Adult Learning and Global Change (ALGC) Management & Admissions	Alsion Taylor	Kari Grain, Ali Abdi		
Undergraduate Programs Advisory Curriculum Ccommittee (UPACC)	Hartej Gill	Jason Ellis, Mark Edwards		
Graduate Programs Advisory Curriculum Committee (GPACC)	Claudia Ruitenberg	Members include all Coordinators, Chairs & the EDST Rep to the M.Ed. in Indigenous Education		
Merit	André Mazawi	Lesley Andres, Kari Grain, Bathseba Opini, Robert VanWynsberghe		
VI. Working Groups				
EdD in Educational Policy & Leadership Working Group	Mark Edwards	Claudia Ruitenberg, Samuel D. Rocha, Fei Wang (Nov. onward), Anthony Edwards, Mohna Baichoo (EdD Student), Devin Ozdogu (EdD Student)		
VII. EDST Search Committees, 2023-2024				
PAEI2: Economics of Educational Equity	Lesley Andres	Samuel D. Rocha, Jason Ellis, Alison Taylor, Ross Hikey (UBC-O), Yotam Ronen (Student Representative)		
Indigenous Education (two positions)	Cash Ahenakew	Jo-Ann Archibald (Emerita), Sharon Stein, Dustin Louie, Joaquin Muñoz (EDCP), Marney Point (FN & Endangered Languages Program), Steven Evans (Student Representative)		

VIII. Faculty of Education Committees & Bodies				
	EDST Representative	Notes / Reference Information		
	T			
Teacher Education Advisory Committee (TEAC)	Jason Ellis	_		
Committee on Curriculum, Admissions, Standings, and Appeals (CCASA)	Ali Abdi*	*Till Dec 21st, 2023. For Jan-Aug 2024: TBD.		
Graduate Curriculum Advisory Committee (GCAC)	Claudia Ruitenberg	https://educ.ubc.ca/committees-and-meetings/		
Faculty Personnel Committee	Lesley Andres Margaret Kovach			
Dean's Advisory Committee on Research	Sharon Stein			
Graduate Scholarships Committee	Leslie Roman	-		
Master in Educational Technology (MET)	Kapil Regmi	https://met.ubc.ca/		
Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Decolonization Ctte	Hartej Gill (Member)	https://educ.ubc.ca/committees-and-meetings/		
Teacher Education Program Coordinator (TEP)	Hartej Gill (Coordinator)	https://teach.educ.ubc.ca/		
Search Committee for Dean of Education	Hartej Gill (Member)	https://educ.ubc.ca/search-dean-faculty-of-education/		
Indigenous Teacher Education Program (NITEP)	Dustin Louie (Director)	https://nitep.educ.ubc.ca/		
Advisory Board, M.Ed. in Indigenous Education	Dustin Louie (Member)	https://pdce.educ.ubc.ca/med_indigenous/		
Early Childhood Education (ECED)	Mona Gleason	https://educ.ubc.ca/committees-and-meetings/		
Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity (SOGI)	Mona Gleason	https://sogi.educ.ubc.ca/		
B.Ed. Awards	Gerald Fallon	https://teach.educ.ubc.ca/students/awards/		
Centre for Culture, Identity and Education (CCIE)	Handel K. Wright (Director)	https://ccie.educ.ubc.ca/		
Learning Design & Digital Innovation (LDDI)	Deirdre Kelly	https://lddi.educ.ubc.ca/design-for-learning/		
Teaching & Learning Enhancement Fund (TLEF)	Mark Edwards	https://tlef.ubc.ca/		
Education Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee (JOHSC)	Holly-Kate Collinson- Shield	https://educ.sites.olt.ubc.ca/files/2019/12/JOHSC- Terms-of-Reference-Education-1920.pdf		

IX. University-Wide Bodies/Roles				
Scholars at Risk Network	Amy Metcalfe	https://www.scholarsatrisk.org/		
UBC-Faculty Association Equity Committee	Leslie Roman	https://www.facultyassociation.ubc.ca/		
Working Committee on Disability Culture, Art, and Equity	Leslie Roman	https://edst.educ.ubc.ca/disability-culture-art-and-equity/		
Advisory Committee for the Wingspan Cluster	Leslie Roman (Chair)	https://wingspan.educ.ubc.ca/		
Public Humanities Hub Advisory Board	Samuel D. Rocha	https://publichumanities.ubc.ca/		
Senior Advisor to the President on Anti-Racism & Inclusive Excellence	Handel K. Wright	https://antiracism.ubc.ca/		
Knowledge Exchange	Michelle Stack	https://kx.ubc.ca/		
Learning Exchange	Michelle Stack (Academic Director)	https://learningexchange.ubc.ca/		
President's Advisory Board on Student Discipline	Mark Edwards	https://universitycounsel.ubc.ca/homepage/guides- and-resources/discipline/		
	X. Faculty Members			
	Faculty name	Dates		
	Ali Abdi	January 1st-June, 30th, 2024		
	Vanessa Andreotti	Till August 31st, 2025		
	Bathseba Opini	Returns from leave on Jan 1 st , 2024		
	Marcelina Piotrowski	May 23 rd , 2023-November 23 rd , 2024		
	Jude Walker	Sep 1 st , 2023-August 31 st , 2024		

*** END OF DOCUMENT ***

Arch.

^{*}This document contains 4 pages numbered 1 to 4.

^{*}Version released: Saturday, September 2^{nd} , 2023 @09:00PM PST; format correction: Sep 6 @ 08:30AM PST. AEM/AEM